[Jump to the beginning of content]

About Energy Saving Charter & 4Ts Charter schemes

Climate Change is a cross-sector, cross-domain subject which has far reaching socio-economic and cultural impacts across the globe. As a member of the global village, Hong Kong needs to respond positively and ready itself for making greater effort to combat climate change. The Paris Agreement call for global action to keep global average temperature increase to well below 2°C relative to pre-industrial levels and to pursue efforts to limit it to 1.5°C. The Paris Agreement came into force on 4 November 2016 and is applicable to Hong Kong. In this context, the Government has promulgated Hong Kong's Climate Action Plan 2030+ in January 2017 which set the new target to reduce the carbon intensity in Hong Kong from the 2005 level by 65% to 70% by 2030.

Energy Saving Charter

Promoting energy efficiency and energy saving is one of the most critical means for Hong Kong to continuously reduce carbon emissions. Since 2012, we have been launching the Energy Saving Charter to encourage business and community organizations to save energy.

For the Energy Saving Charter 2016, over 3,300 premises signed up to the Charter. This year, while appealing for the continuous support from shopping malls, office buildings, shops, offices, residential buildings / housing estates, premises of NGOs and primary and secondary schools/ tertiary education institutions for making the pledge, we would like to step up efforts in energy conservation by expanding the scope of the Charter and extending invitation to commercial/ industrial buildings, community facilities, restaurants, supermarkets, kindergartens, hotels and hospitals for joining the Charter. We also welcome other sectors that not mentioned from above to join the Charter. Please visit the participants pages for details.

We would appreciate your support in the following respects for Energy Saving Charter 2017 with the scope:-

  1. to maintain an average indoor temperature between 24-26°C during the summer months of June to September in 2017 (Please click here and refer to details in Item (1) under Energy Saving Tips);
  2. to switch off electrical appliances and systems when not in use (Please click here and refer to details in Item (2) under Energy Saving Tips) and procure energy efficient electrical appliances (such as those with Grade 1 energy labels) and systems (Please click here and refer to details in Item (3) under Energy Saving Tips) from June 2017 to May 2018Íž and
  3. to engage staff/ students to adopt the above energy saving practices together. (Please click here and refer to details in Item (4) under Energy Saving Tips)

The "4Ts Charter"

As buildings account for some 90% of electricity consumption and over 60% of greenhouse gas emissions in Hong Kong, reducing energy consumption in buildings is one of the important measures to achieve the new carbon reduction target. The Government has established a partnership with major stakeholders in the built environment under the 4Ts framework, namely target, timeline, transparency and together, under which the 4Ts partners are encouraged to set their energy saving targets and timelines and to share their existing and planned energy saving measures.

We have already gathered the support of owners / managers of a number of commercial sector buildings and institutional buildings in Hong Kong, and would appreciate your support in the following respects for 4Ts Charter with the scope:-

  1. to set energy saving target with a timeline (Please click here and refer to details in Item (1) under 4Ts Tips);
  2. to ensure transparency to track energy saving result (Please click here and refer to details in Item (2) under 4Ts Tips); and
  3. to encourage inhabitants (including staff, students, occupants, tenants) to work together on the above energy saving target. (Please click here and refer to details in Item (3) under 4Ts Tips)

Please return us the completed reply slip or online sign up (Guidelines) if your organisation would like to join the Charter. Participants are required to submit relevant information upon requested (4Ts Information Collected Form).

Keeping Records for Inspection

Premises of participating organisations in Energy Saving Charter are encouraged to keep records on routine indoor air temperature measurements for future reference and review. We will carry out sample checking of indoor temperature for those premises participated in the Charter.

Whereas, premises of participating organisations in 4Ts Charter would be required to submit their energy saving targets with timelines and records track energy saving results upon requested by EMSD. (see 4Ts Information Collected Form)

If the premises was found failed to fulfill the above requirements, follow-up actions would be arranged with the participant for necessary improvements. We reserve the right to remove the concerned premises from the list of participants if the situation remains unchanged.

Why the Charter

Benefits of Joining the Charters

[跳至內容的開始]

關於節能約章計劃 及 4Ts約章計劃

氣候變化是一項跨界別、跨範疇的議題,對世界各地社會、經濟、人文影響深遠。作為地球村的一分子,香港需要積極作出回應並作好準備,幫助應對氣候變化。《巴黎協定》呼籲全球攜手行動把全球平均氣溫升幅控制在工業化前水平低於2度之內,並努力將氣溫升幅限制在1.5度之內。《巴黎協定》已於2016年11月4日生效,並適用於香港。有見及此,政府在2017年1月推出香港氣候行動藍圖2030+,並設定了目標,在2030年前把碳強度由2005年水平降低65%至70%。

節能約章

為持續減少碳強度,政府的其中一個工作重點是推動能源效益及節約能源。本局在2012年首次推出《節能約章》,旨為鼓勵業界和地區機構節約能源。

《節能約章2016》吸引了超過3,300簽署者。本年度,我們除呼籲商場、辦公室大廈、商舖、辦公室、住宅大廈/屋苑、非政府機構的場所及中小學/專上教育院校作出承諾,為提升節約能源力度,我們擴大「約章」的範圍亦邀請商業/工業大樓、社區設施、餐廳、超級市場、幼稚園、酒店及醫院參與約章,我們亦歡迎其他行業的建築物參與約章。詳情請瀏覽參與者網頁。

我們誠邀閣下在以下方面支持節能約章2017:-

  1. 在2017年夏季6月至9月期間,將平均室內溫度維持在攝氏24至26度之間(請按此處瀏覽節能有計項目(1)的詳細資料);
  2. 在2017年6月至2018年5月期間,關掉不使用的電器及系統(請按此處瀏覽節能有計項目(2)的詳細資料),並且採購具能源效益的產品(如貼有一級能源標籤的電器用具)及系統(請按此處瀏覽節能有計項目(3)的詳細資料);及
  3. 與員工/學生共同實踐以上節約能源措施(請按此處瀏覽節能有計項目(4)的詳細資料)。

4Ts約章

香港的建築物佔全港約九成耗電量,相當於超過六成的溫室氣體排放。為達到減碳的目標,其中一項的重點措施是減低建築物的耗電量。政府與主要持份者在「4Ts」框架下合作,而「4Ts」是包括訂立目標制定時間表開放透明共同參與。我們鼓勵持份者制定時間表以訂立節能目標,並分享現有及計劃的節能措施。

現時,我們已得到香港商業大樓和公共設施大樓的支持,誠邀閣下在以下方面支持4Ts約章:-

  1. 訂立節能目標時間表(請按此處瀏覽4Ts有計項目(1)的詳細資料);
  2. 確保具透明度跟進成效(請按此處瀏覽4Ts有計項目(2)的詳細資料);及
  3. 鼓勵全民(如員工/學生/住戶/租客)共同參與達成節能目標(請按此處瀏覽4Ts有計項目(3)的詳細資料)。

若貴機構想參與約章,請交回填妥的回條或於網上簽署使用手冊)登記。參加者需按要求提交有關資料(4Ts資料收集表)。

保存紀錄以作監察

我們鼓勵參與節能約章的機構的轄下場所保存日常量度溫度的紀錄,以供日後參考及審查之用。另外,我們會抽樣到參與機構的轄下場所進行室內溫度的檢查。

參與4Ts約章的機構須應機電工程署要求,提交能源節約目標與計劃及具透明度跟進成效的方法。(見4Ts資料收集表

如發現參與機構未能達至約章的要求,我們會作出跟進及勸籲改善。如發現情況未有改善,我們保留將有關場所從參與約章名單中剔除的權利。

為何推行約章計劃

參與約章計劃的裨益